There You Will Be

O Lord, You have searched me and known me,

My thoughts understood and my ways;

You know of my sitting and rising;

Your hand, now and ever, upon me is laid.

 

If I take the wings of the dawn,

Or dwell in the depths of the sea,

If I make my bed in the grave

The hand of my God will lay hold of me.

 

When darkness my soul overwhelms,

The light all around is as night;

The darkness is not dark to You!

The darkest of nights is as day in Your sight.

 

So fearfully and wonderfully made

When wrought in the depths of the earth;

You saw me and knew all my days–

Before there was one, before my birth.

 

Search me, O God, know my heart;

Try me, and all my thoughts know;

Encompass behind and before;

Teach me in ways everlasting to go.

 

From Your Spirit, Your presence, O where can I flee?

But there You will be.

 

(copyright 2009 Jeanne Lane)

About Jeanne

Notes on the journey of a seaching heart... View all posts by Jeanne

Leave a Reply

