Song

An embarasing number of months ago, I was in a minor fender-bender and smashed one of my headlights.  It is still a gaping hole (we are looking for the part for my old car, really we are) and finally a couple weeks ago, after a rain, apparently water found its way into my wiring and shorted out a circuit.  Or whatever you call it in a car.  Anyhow.  I figured out over the course of that day that I am without: a)power door locks; b) a horn; and c) a radio.  I wonder what else I am without and don’t know it.  At least, and this really is a big deal with no AC and 100 degree temps, at least my window button still works!

I don’t have a CD player at my disposal at home (generally with all of us in the small space it is loud anyway), so I get to listen to my music in the car.  It had a great sound system when my Memaw graciously handed it on to me four years ago (after my cousin had driven it to and from high school for several years, to whom I am sure I owe my gratitude for the aforementioned sound system), and even though I’m not the type that effuses over bass boost (etc.), I have really enjoyed it.  A drive with the windows down and an inspirational song playing is something I particularly enjoy.  Well, OK, who doesn’t?  Not to mention a good program or, yes, just something to create white noise for my mind.

Now I get in the car, and it is quiet.  I have the opportunity (read: “I have no choice but”) to think, to pray, and something I have been doing more and more, sing.  I’ve found out it’s a great spirit-lifter and also refocuses my distracted soul back around to God.  You know, there are some Christian songs that really encourage me when I listen to them.  But most often it is really a matter of entertainment.  Not that enjoying music for music’s sake is bad; but I wonder if, by constantly barraging my mind with “Christian” lyrics (profound and not-so) as a form of entertainment, without giving true thought to what is being said– I have inured my soul to the power of musical praise.  I will say, I have struggled with feeling disconnected from the spirit of the songs I’ve been singing in church lately.  I wonder if this isn’t part of the reason.

So, I’ve been singing.  Reminding myself of hymns I hadn’t thought about in a long time.  Pouring my heart out to God and just plain enjoying it.  Finding my heart lifted.

This whole discussion brings to mind scriptures such as Ephesians 5:16 and 1 Corinthian 10:31, about redeeming the time and doing everything for God’s glory.  I know this is stretching those particular verses a bit out of context, but I’m beginning to think that my “car time” should be viewed as an opportunity to minister to the Lord and fellowship with Him, rather than just  let my mind “vegetate”.  Whether I turn on the radio or not, I should be doing it for God’s glory.  And I should take more of the opportunities I do have to “do something”.

Perhaps this is totally not where any of you are.  That’s OK.  I like to talk to myself.  🙂

Sometimes having a short in your radio can be a good thing.  🙂

About Jeanne

Notes on the journey of a seaching heart... View all posts by Jeanne

One response to “Song

Leave a Reply

